Montenegro Travel Guide: The Country You (Probably) Haven’t Heard Of, But Need To Visit

Angela Anne
6 min readOct 25, 2022

Whenever people ask what was my favorite country from my last five month stint in Europe, I answer quickly, “Montenegro.”

To which they respond, “Where?”

Montenegro might be Europe’s best kept secret and I’m even hesitant to write this article because I don’t want too many people to discover this small country nestled between Albania and Croatia on the Adriatic Sea. Part of its charm is how remote the country is–along with sights that are unlike anywhere you’ve seen.

Since it’s so remote, Montenegro can be a tricky country to get to and navigate around. This travel guide contains everything you need to experience Europe’s best kept secret.

Montenegro photo collage

A brief history of Montenegro

Not only is Montenegro one of the smallest countries in Europe, it’s also one of the newest. It just gained its independence from Serbia in 2006!

As I discussed in my Croatia travel guide, the entire region used to be the nation of Yugoslavia. Serbia basically ruled over the other present-day countries in Yugoslavia and the homeland war in the 1990s broke apart all the nations, except Serbia and Montenegro which stayed together as one joint country.

--

--

Angela Anne

Writer, creative entrepreneur, and social media strategist with an ice cream obsession.